top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureStuart Walter

Max Meyer Should Close Games

Updated: Apr 24, 2022


I was wrong. Well, kind of.


I don't believe that the Marlins have a clear-cut closer right now and that everyone should get a shot, including the young arms who are currently penciled in as starters. That does include Luzardo, but...


Max Meyer should get a shot to be the closer for the Miami Marlins in 2022.


I know he's only had four innings of big-league work, and that they all came in his one Spring Training start, but those numbers shouldn't be overlooked. He didn't allow a single hit while striking out five. He looked fearless against some New York Mets who will be there all season long.


Of those five strikeouts, he finished all of them with his lethal slider. His fastball ain't that bad, either. I wonder where in the game a pitcher could have an impact with just two REALLY good pitches.....


He had a good college career with the Golden Gophers (which is why the Marlins took him in the first round in 2020), but I don't think he's there yet to start at the big league level (especially when Miami already has a stacked rotation of young starters).


I wish he had gotten another game or two before being sent down so we could see him throw more. Was his confidence and skill just a one-off? Is he actually that unfazed no matter who is standing the batters' box?


I'd wager that we see Max Meyer in Miami this season, but I'm still really hoping it'll be out of the pen and not just a spot start.


I know (probably) that he and a lot of other people want to see him as a starter, but the position is up for grabs, he has the arsenal, he appears to have the ability to not let the situation (or who he's facing) phase him...I can't see a downside to giving him a shot at the role.


Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page