top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureStuart Walter

May 2, 2022: Marlins 4, Diamondbacks 5

You can't win them all, right?


It wasn't Pablo's night...four ER on six hits over 4.2 innings. I mean he still got seven K's but it's gotta sting.


If you're a regular reader of my blog you know I like to keep things positive (and I'll get back to that in a minute), but the MLB needs better umpires. Brian Anderson was safe. Also while I'm in rant mode I am NOT impressed with the Diamondbacks pitching staff. How many times were Marlins players either hit by a pitch or almost hit by a pitch? If you're an MLB pitcher you have to do better than that. I'll just leave it there.


NOW. On to the regularly scheduled positive programming.


OH MY GOODNESS IS JAZZ CHISHOLM JR FUN TO WATCH.


The man is absolutely electric....clutch defence when needed and his bat is just as good.


Bottom of the seventh. Down 5-0. Bases loaded. Jazz delivers.


He's now rocking a .306 average with four doubles, three triples, four home runs, four stolen bases, 17 RBI and an OPS of 1.018.


Here's where some of those rank in all of Major League Baseball:


AVG: 21st

Triples: 1st

SB: 8th

RBI:10th

OPS: 7th


Oh, and those four home runs are tied with Pete Alonso.


I know it's early. I know he (probably) won't keep up this torrid pace all year. But gosh darn I hope he does.


Oh, and after Jazz drove in two runs he hustled and scored when Jesús Aguilar singled to shallow left field next.


This team is so exciting. This team is so much fun. This team is so good.


Even in games they have no business being in they just don't quit and at the VERY LEAST make it close.


Bring on game two.

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page