top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureStuart Walter

March 28, 2022: Marlins 8, Nationals 1

Updated: Apr 11, 2022

The game started at noon for me which meant I had to watch it during work. I was only able to watch the first three innings before I had to do some running around.


During my first post, I said "I know the Fish aren't going to win 9-2 every game this season (might not even happen again during Spring Training),". Well, it wasn't 9-2 but a seven-run win is a seven-run win.


I know it's Spring Training and I know the final scores don't matter, but you can't help but be excited when the Fish put up eight against a divisional opponent. On top of that the Nationals started Patrick Corbin, who they spent a LOT of money on, and they had Juan Soto, Nelson Cruz and Josh Bell in their lineup. It's not like the Marlins were playing a bunch of prospects. Oh, and did I mention that the Miami lineup was mostly players who won't be starting opening day? This team is going to be GOOD.


I'm still loving the new additions to the club in Soler and Wendle. In the first at bat of the game Soler looked hungry and made Corbin work. He was followed by Wendle who managed to get to a full count, foul one off then earn the walk.


There were two players that made me think; Garrett Cooper and Brian Anderson.


I really think that Cooper needs to earn a spot in the lineup...especially if it's either him or Aguilar (for now) at DH and 1B. If it comes down to just one of the two getting the playing time, Jesús Aguilar is the easy choice (contract aside) for me. Cooper had 33 RBI and an average of .284 in 2021 while Aguilar had 93 RBI and an average of .261. at DH they're there to just provide offence, right?


I mentioned this in my last blog post, but I think BA is fighting for a spot on the team. He went 0/3 today and is still only hitting .143 over six games this Spring. Especially with the addition of the All Star Joey Wendle Anderson can't afford to not impress.


The only other thing I saw this afternoon of note (again, I only got to watch a small part of the game) was Roman Quinn. He was thrown out trying to steal second, but if he's going to be on the bench I'm okay with that. The Fish need people who can run that fast with the ghost runner back in extras.


Let's talk about pitching now.


It was really exciting to watch Edward Cabrera pitch this afternoon. It wasn't like he had it easy...he had to face Juan Soto, Nelson Cruz and Josh Bell in a row. He handled them like a champ. After Soto earned the walk in the bottom of the first, Cabrera came back and downed Cruz and Bell on back-to-back punch outs.


Through his three innings of work, the 23-year-old did not allow a single hit and fanned three. That's a heck of a start even in Spring Training.


THAT BEING SAID.


There are only five starters in the rotation, and the Marlins have apparently four locks (according to that post I referenced from the team social media). That does NOT include Luzardo or Cabrera. How great could it be if Cabrera broke camp with the Fish and was available out of the bullpen? He'd be able to eat at LEAST three innings. Just imagine...five innings of Sandy followed by three of Cabrera followed by (if needed) a closer. That INSTANTLY makes the bullpen better.


Sixto is going to (hopefully) be healthy and ready to go at some point and Max isn't going to be down in the minors very long (we hope). These arms are going to be too good for 'AAA' ball so why not use them in the bullpen, where the Marlins NEED help.


Up next (tomorrow) are the Mets.


I'll be all settled in at home to watch this one...work will be done and the 4-6 inches of snow that's expected will be coming down outside. I'll at least have some warm weather to look at for a few hours.

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page